The Secretariat

The Rural Policy Council points out the members of the secretary. For the time being there are 29 members, which represent the member organisations of the Rural Policy Council, organisations from rural policy network and other 

The work of the Secretariat is coordinated from within the Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry. The Secretariat consists of the vice secretary generals, representatives from each thematic network, Regional Councils, Centres for Economic Development, Transport and the Environment, Confederation of Unions for Professional and Managerial Staff in Finland (Akava), Folktinget, the rural research organisation MUA ry, the National Rural Network, The Central Union of Agricultural Producers and Forest Owners (MTK), Finnish island policy, The Central Union of Swedish-speaking Agricultural Producers in Finland (SLC), the Association of Finnish Local and Regional Authorities, the National Village Association, Finnish LEADER groups, the Finnish Association for Nature Conservation, the Finnish Forest Centre, the Finnish Federation for Social Affairs and Health (SOSTE), Suomen Yrittäjät, the Rectors' Council of Finnish Universities (UNIFI) and ministries.

The work within the Secretariat is open for all who are interested in Rural Policy and have a central role in rural development.