The Rural Policy Council

The Rural Policy measures are undertaken in cooperation between ministries, regional agencies, municipalities and various NGO's related to the welfare of the rural population, rural businesses and rural development.

The Rural Policy Council has been appointed by the Government for the years 2021-2025. The Council consists of 34 members, representing all policy areas pertaining to everyday rural life and entrepreneurship.

The Rural Policy Council is led by the Minister of Agriculture and Forestry Antti Kurvinen. The Secretary General, Antonia Husberg, is responsible for the operative work and is the Head the Secretariat.

The Vice Secretary Generals are: Senior Specialist Hanna-Mari Kuhmonen from the Ministry of Economic Affairs and Employment of Finland representing the public sector, Virpi Harilahti-Juola from the Association for Rural Culture and Education representing civil society and research professor Hilkka Vihinen from the Natural Resources Institute Finland (Luke) representing research.